Do you know your Dosha? How to eat, exercise and live for your Dosha.

vpk_lotus1

My Dosha is Pitta-Kapha…holllaaa to all my PK’s out there. Don’t worry, one Dosha is not better than the other, but Pitta-Kapha is of course the best ;). Although there are three primary doshas, they can be combined to arrive at ten different body and behavioral types. So you may have one prominent dosha, or two, or you may be what they call a tri-doshi. Mine is a two-dosha type (Pitta + Kapha).

Okay, at this point I expect you to be royally confused. So please continue reading and take a moment to take the test. Yippee a Quiz! There are a few quizzes out there, but I found this one to be the most accurate.

What on earth is a Dosha? Think of it as your mind and body personality type. For those of you who are familiar with personality assessments such as the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI), this is sort of like that, but it’s about your medicinal type. According to Ayurvedic medicine an individual is determined by a combination of the three Doshas – Vata, Pitta and Kapha – which informs one’s health, propensity for certain diseases, cure for any disease, and other fascinating health insights. It is the combination of these three doshas that makes a person different and peculiar from others. Yeah, it may sounds a bit kooky and out there for some, but it’s always interesting to know a bit more about your self in order to find what fits you best from a health and lifestyle perspective.

Let’s say I was interested in this whole dosha thing, why should I be? Aside from sounding really cool when you walk up to someone and tell them your dosha, here are a few other reasons:

  • Helps you know your body and its requirements
  • Helps you maintain optimal health
  • Helps you maintain a good and balanced personal, family and professional life
  • Helps you to plan your lifestyle according to the requirements of your body
  • Helps you plan a balanced diet
  • Helps you to know how an imbalance is likely to occur in yourself (and take steps to prevent or mitigate it)

I actually found my assessment results to be quite interesting and accurate. I learned why certain things I currently do make me feel anxious, tired or unfocused at times. I also learned why some things I practice in my life (e.g., eating my largest meal in the early afternoon versus in the early morning) work for me, while not for others.

Another thing I like about doshas is the tie to one’s taste buds. I have always found certain tastes more palatable than others (such as bitter and astringent foods), and also find certain foods make me feel calmer and more energetic. The foods tied to my dosha turn out to be the foods I tend to desire and that make me feel good on the inside and out. Coincidence? I think not. Read about the six tastes, and see which ones you have the greatest preference for, and whether they tie to your dosha. If they don’t, maybe it’s time to change things up, and introduce some new foods and tastes into your life.

Speaking of change…if you are interested in determining whether your current lifestyle sustains and nurtures a balanced mind-body state, and potentially making modifications, then I recommend this website and test.

Enjoy, and let me know what dosha type you get please! Especially if you get Pitta-Kapha 🙂

And I’m out,
Peace sign
Ida

2 thoughts on “Do you know your Dosha? How to eat, exercise and live for your Dosha.

Leave a Reply

