My undergraduate personal essay…not much has changed

I was looking through old files on my computer the other day, and came across one of my application essays for undergrad. Turns out my mission and passion for healthy eating isn’t very new. Honestly, I completely forgot about writing this, and am slightly embarrassed that I never quite got around to accomplishing the goals and plans I highlighted in this essay, but I guess it’s better late than never? This was written about seven years ago…

Almost every day I turn on the television to hear about the newest diet secret or most recent study about anorexia or obesity. I became interested in this subject a few years ago when a close friend of mine wanted to lose a few pounds, but unfortunately succumbed to anorexia. I began researching topics related to eating disorders, health, and nutrition in my free time. The most interesting thing I discovered was how many people are unaware of the short and long term health effects associated with the foods they eat. Many people are eating the wrong foods or given false information about what healthy eating really entails.

I decided to put together my research and love for food to create a business targeted towards educating the public about healthy eating and providing them with a variety of nutritional options. This year I was approached several times by my peers for dietary advice. Their avid interest and curiosity surprised me, so I collected facts, added my thoughts, and accumulated everything into a journal. Eventually, I would like to publish this information to help spread knowledge and awareness.

As a college student I have successfully avoided gaining excess weight or the dreaded “freshman fifteen.” Maintaining a healthy diet was not a challenge for me because I am aware of which foods are nutritious and which are not. It is easy to make smart food choices once you know the facts, but for many this lack of knowledge is the problem. This issue influenced me to open a restaurant that not only offers various healthy meal options, but also educates the customers. The menu would show the customer health benefits and interesting nutrition facts about the meal they order. Additionally, I would implement the same concept in cafeterias across elementary schools and colleges to influence children and young adults to acquire healthy food habits.

I enjoy experimenting with original, innovative ways to cook my meals in what I call the “healthy way.” I am always looking for a challenge, so in my house we have created a weekly cooking challenge. My friends choose a meal, snack, or dessert they are craving, and I recreate it the “healthy way.” One of my favorite substitutes when baking is using nonfat yogurt instead of oil. I plan to create a website in which users submit a food and learn how to prepare the meal using healthy alternatives.

I shared my plan with a co-worker, and currently we are putting together marketing tactics and strategies to help turn my ideas into a reality. I believe this school will provide me with the tools and business skills needed to implement my ideas, and help change the way people eat today.

And I’m out,
Peace sign
Ida

Leave a Reply

